EDIT MAIN
Plus_blue

New Directions Program

Coordinator: Maura Burns, (331) 228-4858 Maura.Burns@d303.org

Administrative Assistant: Dominia York Dominia.York@d303.org

Mades Johnstone Center (MJC)

1304 Ronzheimer Rd., St. Charles, IL 60174

(Staff phones are voice mail only)

Teacher: (K-2) Ms. Joanne Warren, (331)228-5997 Joanne.Carrington-Warren@d303.org

Teacher: (2-3) Mr. Paul Loth, (331) 228-5997 Paul.Loth@d303.org

Teacher: (4-5) Ms. Myra Stinson, (331) 228-6033 Myra.Stinson@d303.org

Teacher: (6-7) Ms. Magen McCarthy, (331) 228-4858 Magen.McCarthy@d303.org

Teacher: (7-8) Mr. Jayson Via, (331) 228-2696 Jayson.Via@d303.org

Teacher: (9-10) Mr. Timoth Pannell,(331) 228-5997 Timothy.Pannell@d303.org

Teacher: (10-11) Mr. Michael Denslow, (331) 228-TBD Michael.Denslow@d303.org

Teacher: (9-12) Doug Mavity, (331) 228-2785 Doug.Mavity@d303.org

Teacher: (9-12) Ms. Ginger Rohde, (331) 228-6027 Ginger.Rohde@d303.org

Teacher: (Phy.Ed) Mr. Danny Klein, (331) 228-6031 Danny.Klein@d303.org

Art & Music: Mr. Paul Scanlan (331) 228-6030 Paul.Scanlan@d303.org

Vocational Specialist: Kevin Molidor, (331) 228-2695 Kevin.Molidor@d303.org

Social Worker: Ms. Allison Backer, (331) 228-2783 Allidon.Backer@d303.org

Social Worker: TBD

School Nurse: Ann Aderman (331) 228-4859 Ann.Aderman@d303.org

The New Directions program is designed to work with students whose primary needs are emotional or behavioral in nature, and whose needs cannot be successfully met in a traditional public school setting. The program serves students in grades K-12.

The classrooms are small, structured settings that focus on differentiated academic instruction. In addition, the staff employ a variety of positive behavior interventions, including consistent feedback on behavior, social skills instruction aligned with the Illinois Social Emotional Learning Standards, specialized learning strategies, and vocational instruction and support. Intervention techniques aim to help students develop self-management skills, effective decision making, problem-solving strategies, and improved interpersonal skills. Students are taught self-regulatory strategies to monitor their ability to stay on task, complete work, focus on instruction, and interact well with teachers and peers.

The physical structure of the school is smaller to allow for greater individualization of instruction and increased opportunities to learn and practice positive coping strategies throughout the entire day. The classes generally have 8-12 students, with a 3:1 staff to student ratio in the high school program, and a 2:1 staff to student ratio in the elementary/middle school program. Students spend up to 100% of their day in this specialized program, with the goal of a gradual transition back to their home school or graduation, depending on the student's needs and IEP goals.

Related services may be integrated into the classroom activities with direct and/or consultative services provided, as appropriate. Two full-time social workers assist students with problem-solving, crisis intervention and social skills development. Information is also provided to families about community resources available such as mental health services, substance rehabilitation and vocational or post-secondary educational options.

The New Directions Program includes the following key components:

  • Academic instruction aligned with the Illinois State Standards and IEP's
  • Positive behavior interventions and support
  • Participation in local and state assessments with appropriate accommodations
  • Functional behavior assessments and behavior intervention plans
  • Transition planning which includes cooperating with community colleges and other community agencies
  • Vocational education and support with the opportunity to earn additional credits
  • Group and individual social skills education and counseling
  • Therapeutic support for students' emotional well-being
  • Structured environment with immediate constructive feedback
  • Accelerated credit recovery
  • Community service activities